Skip to research workspace

JevonsIntelResearch preview

Energy & compute intelligence

Follow the money.
See what it powers.

Explore federal energy funding, the infrastructure it supports, and the electricity demand reshaping the grid.

Public data. Traceable sources.
Higgsfield Illustrative film
U.S. infrastructure intelligence

United States / Federal capital

Where energy funding goes.

Explore Department of Energy awards by reported place of performance.

FY 2025Oct 1, 2024 – Sep 30, 2025Complete fiscal-year window
Higgsfield Illustrative film
Loading the verified USAspending snapshot…

United States / Compute demand

The electricity behind compute.

Explore scenarios, reported consumption and generation agreements on their own terms.

Higgsfield Illustrative film

Electricity demand through 2050

Compare EIA scenarios below, then examine company-reported consumption and generation agreements. Projections and disclosures have different reporting boundaries and remain separate from the federal funding ledger.

EIA AEO 2026-04
U.S. data center electricity consumption, 2025–2050billion kilowatthours · 11 EIA scenario cases · run d021826b

445.6 bn kWh2050 · Counterfactual Baseline · projection

0225450675900202520302035204020452050Low ZTCHigh Electricity DemandAlt TransportationCombinationAlt ElectricityLow Oil and Gas SupplyHigh Oil and Gas SupplyHigh Economic GrowthHigh ZTCLow Economic GrowthCounterfactual Baseline
Counterfactual Baseline 10 other EIA cases
Baseline 2025104.8bn kWh · 2.44% of U.S. electricity
Baseline 2050445.6bn kWh · 7.43% of U.S. electricity
2050 range across cases427–819the uncertainty is 1.9× wide

History and projection are distinct EIA series. Projections are scenario output conditional on a named case and are not forecasts. Never compare a value from one case with a value from another.

What the largest operators report

Self-reported electricity from published sustainability reports. The reporting basis differs between companies, so these figures are not a ranking. No company discloses AI-specific consumption.

OrganizationReportedBasisYearNoteSource
Google30.8 TWhData centers only2024Up 27% year over year as reported.Google 2025 Environmental Report2025-06
Microsoft29.83 TWhWhole company2024 (FY)Electricity only, excluding heating, cooling and steam. 29,829,540 MWh in FY2024, up from 10,770,714 MWh in FY2020. Fiscal year ends June 30.Microsoft 2025 Environmental Data Fact Sheet, Table 62025-05
Meta18.4 TWhWhole company2024Electricity use up roughly 200% since 2019 as reported.Meta 2025 Sustainability Report2025-09
AmazonNot disclosedNot disclosed2024No comparable total electricity figure is published. The report discloses power usage effectiveness and renewable matching instead.Amazon 2024 Sustainability Report2025-07

Generation secured for compute

Power agreements signed by data center operators. Contracted capacity is a commercial commitment — it is not electricity delivered, and in two cases below the plant is not currently generating at all.

OfftakerAssetCapacityTermStatusQualifierSource
Amazon Web ServicesSusquehanna Steam Electric StationPATalen Energy1,920 MW17 yrContractedFull 1,920 MW contract quantity expected no later than 2032; delivery ramps. Existing nuclear plant is operating. Actual delivered campus load is unverified.Talen Energy announcement2025-06-11
MetaClinton Clean Energy CenterILConstellation Energy1,121 MW20 yrContractedExisting operating plant. Agreement begins 2027.Constellation and Meta2025-06-03
MicrosoftThree Mile Island Unit 1 (Crane Clean Energy Center)PAConstellation Energy835 MW20 yrRestart plannedRestart in progress. Current operator page targets 2027. 835 MW is generation nameplate, not verified energized campus load.Constellation Energy2026-09-09
GoogleSmall modular reactor fleetKairos Power500 MW—AnnouncedBroader 500 MW program, not energized load. The 50 MW Hermes 2 deployment in the company collection is part of this program and must not be added to it. First deployment targeted around 2030.Google and Kairos Power2024-10-14
  • Reported electricity is what each company chose to disclose. The reporting basis differs between companies and is recorded per row; do not rank companies on figures with different bases.
  • No company discloses AI-specific or model-specific energy use. Nothing here measures the energy cost of an individual model, product or query.
  • Contracted generation capacity is a commercial commitment, not delivered electricity and not a completed physical plant.
  • A megawatt of contracted capacity and a billion kilowatthours of consumption are different quantities and must never be summed.

Compiled 2026-09-09. Hand-compiled from company sustainability reports and regulator or company announcements. Every row carries its own source and source date. Rows are not machine-ingested and are not comparable with USAspending transaction records.

Follow the companies behind the demand

New collection: 25 company profiles, five documented relationships and the infrastructure around them.

The infrastructure around the opportunity

Regional context to investigate next. Geography alone does not prove a company’s power supply.

Operating nameplate · 2024 final51.6 GW

595 generators with EIA status OP.

EIA-860 source ↗

Leading generation technologies

Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle20.7 GW
Nuclear9.5 GW
Conventional Steam Coal6.1 GW
Natural Gas Steam Turbine6.1 GW
Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine1.8 GW

Interconnection requests

Berkeley Lab · through 2025

active200
Reported operational290
withdrawn1,354
suspended31
Source rows, not unique projects or load queues. “Active” does not mean ready to build.
248 eGRID plant records · 2023 vintage57 utility entities reporting county coverage · EIA-861 2024Explore federal capital ↗

EIA-860 2024 final, Status OP only, nameplate MW. Early-release EIA datasets are downloadable but excluded from all geographic totals. Queue counts are requests, not unique projects, capacity or readiness.

Company intelligence

Follow the companies.
Find the power.

From the compute builders to the businesses powering them.
Explore the filings, the agreements, and the evidence between.

Research collection25 companiesSnapshot · Sep 9, 2026
Higgsfield Illustrative film
SEC filings + company disclosures4 distinct power arrangements286,596 source recordsExplore the collection ↗

The compute–power connection

Select a connection to inspect the underlying arrangement.

Named-party evidence
Compute companyStated capacityPower counterparty

Connections represent disclosed agreements, not physical power flows. MW figures have different meanings and are not additive.

Your company lens

Inspect a company, compare its reported periods, or save it to your watchlist.

MSFT Compute

Microsoft

MICROSOFT CORPORATION

Annual cash PP&E purchases$115.9BJul 1, 2025 – Jun 30, 2026
Power evidence1 arrangements1 documented relationship records

Capital spending over time

Cash PP&E · USD

Select a year to inspect its period. Latest filed version per annual period.

Period ended Jun 30, 2026 · filed Jul 29, 2026SEC source ↗

Annual cash purchases of property, plant and equipment, USD. Latest filed version per exact annual period; no sum of overlapping records. Not an AI-spending ranking.

Power relationships

Microsoft / ConstellationCrane Clean Energy Center835 MW Inspect +

20-year PPA. generation restart nameplate; not campus demand.

No specific Microsoft campus or serving utility established by this evidence.

Serving utility
Not established
Confidence
confirmed · named relationship
Status as of
2026-09-09
Evidence checked
Sep 9, 2026

Source 1 ↗ Source 2 ↗

Recent filings in the snapshot

Company Facts ↗
8-KSep 2, 20260001193125-26-38028010-KJul 29, 20260001193125-26-3236608-KJul 29, 20260001193125-26-3236328-KJun 5, 20260001193125-26-2586678-KMay 14, 20260001193125-26-224155

Watchlist saved in this browser. Snapshot data; no price feed, automatic alerts or device sync.

The infrastructure around the opportunity

Regional context to investigate next. Geography alone does not prove a company’s power supply.

Operating nameplate · 2024 final51.6 GW

595 generators with EIA status OP.

EIA-860 source ↗

Leading generation technologies

Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle20.7 GW
Nuclear9.5 GW
Conventional Steam Coal6.1 GW
Natural Gas Steam Turbine6.1 GW
Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine1.8 GW

Interconnection requests

Berkeley Lab · through 2025

active200
Reported operational290
withdrawn1,354
suspended31
Source rows, not unique projects or load queues. “Active” does not mean ready to build.
248 eGRID plant records · 2023 vintage57 utility entities reporting county coverage · EIA-861 2024Explore federal capital ↗

EIA-860 2024 final, Status OP only, nameplate MW. Early-release EIA datasets are downloadable but excluded from all geographic totals. Queue counts are requests, not unique projects, capacity or readiness.

Research standards

Sources & methodology.

Know the scope, reporting basis and source behind the view.

Download provenance
Higgsfield Illustrative film

Company & infrastructure collection

286,596 prepared records · 58 source snapshots · retrieved Sep 9, 2026

Download research JSON ↓

All prepared records are available below as compressed JSONL. Early-release tables remain separate from final data. The company page uses selected annual financial observations and five curated relationship records.

EIA-861 · service territories

2025 early release
9,503 records

Incomplete / not fully edited. Not used for regional or national totals. Source introductory year conflicts with row Data Year 2025; source wording retained.

Source provenance

eia861_2025_early ↗

Download SHA-256: e1708f7cb15aa54691878d06eb418b97993d6b4a78fc4663ae7d69ea589913d7

Berkeley Lab · interconnection queues

Through year-end 2025
38,201 records

Generation/storage requests, not load queues or built projects. Counts are source rows, not unique projects. CC BY 4.0.

Source provenance

lbnl_queues_2025 ↗

Download SHA-256: f37a033fac67eb0716eca6850bff530d03b1c3dc3aa3b23d2979966634d4243d

SEC · financial observations

Historical through Sep 9, 2026
56,351 records

Overlapping filings, periods and restatements. Never sum raw observations.

Source provenance

sec_AEP_companyfacts ↗ sec_AMZN_companyfacts ↗ sec_CAT_companyfacts ↗ sec_CEG_companyfacts ↗ sec_CMI_companyfacts ↗ sec_DLR_companyfacts ↗ sec_DUK_companyfacts ↗ sec_D_companyfacts ↗ sec_EQIX_companyfacts ↗ sec_ETN_companyfacts ↗ sec_ETR_companyfacts ↗ sec_GEV_companyfacts ↗ sec_GOOGL_companyfacts ↗ sec_IBM_companyfacts ↗ sec_META_companyfacts ↗ sec_MSFT_companyfacts ↗ sec_NEE_companyfacts ↗ sec_NRG_companyfacts ↗ sec_ORCL_companyfacts ↗ sec_PWR_companyfacts ↗ sec_SO_companyfacts ↗ sec_TSLA_companyfacts ↗ sec_VRT_companyfacts ↗ sec_VST_companyfacts ↗ sec_XEL_companyfacts ↗

Download SHA-256: b1bda78fb562180fea7586e856737728ab0dd58c02e12040fbecf7fe3534f6c8

SEC · filing index

Retrieved Sep 9, 2026
3,437 records

Filing metadata and accession links; not full-text extraction.

Source provenance

sec_AEP_submissions ↗ sec_AMZN_submissions ↗ sec_CAT_submissions ↗ sec_CEG_submissions ↗ sec_CMI_submissions ↗ sec_DLR_submissions ↗ sec_DUK_submissions ↗ sec_D_submissions ↗ sec_EQIX_submissions ↗ sec_ETN_submissions ↗ sec_ETR_submissions ↗ sec_GEV_submissions ↗ sec_GOOGL_submissions ↗ sec_IBM_submissions ↗ sec_META_submissions ↗ sec_MSFT_submissions ↗ sec_NEE_submissions ↗ sec_NRG_submissions ↗ sec_ORCL_submissions ↗ sec_PWR_submissions ↗ sec_SO_submissions ↗ sec_TSLA_submissions ↗ sec_VRT_submissions ↗ sec_VST_submissions ↗ sec_XEL_submissions ↗

Download SHA-256: 1a1daa28d8980afe92701cb0867c6165d143582ada4c5dc373e16032f634fc20

EIA; U.S. EPA. Queued Up Data File © 2026, The Regents of the University of California through Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and GridTracker, CC BY 4.0. Source workbooks converted to JSONL; source notes excluded, dates serialized.

  1. USAspendingPublished source records
  2. Archived extractRetrieval date & source hash
  3. Signed transactionsScope checked, cents preserved
  4. Research snapshotReconciled totals & source links

Federal capital

DOE-awarded prime grants and cooperative agreements (assistance types 02–05), with transaction action dates in FY2025. Contracts, loans, subawards and other agencies are excluded.

Totals sum signed transaction obligations in integer cents. They are not payments, award lifetime values, project costs or constructed capacity. Source corrections remain included.

Fiscal scope
FY2025 action dates, Oct 1, 2024 – Sep 30, 2025
Snapshot retrieved
Loading
Source publication date
Not provided by source
Geographic basis
Transaction place of performance, not recipient headquarters. Award state counts can overlap.
Extract totals
—
Published run
Source SHA-256
Export
—

Compute evidence

Scenario projections, company-reported electricity consumption and generation agreements remain separate. Contracted megawatts do not establish energized capacity.

Company reporting boundaries differ, so the reported figures are not a ranking. Undisclosed consumption remains missing, not zero. No inferred link connects federal grant recipients to data-center operators.

Spending trends

Each fiscal year is drawn from its own published archive under an identical scope filter. The most recent year is incomplete and is marked as such rather than smoothed.

Map & artwork

The interactive map uses the repository’s Census 2017 boundaries, redistributed by us-atlas. Infrastructure films were generated with Higgsfield and are illustrative. They do not depict verified award sites or encode funding, capacity or grid relationships. The interactive map reports source-backed geographic figures.

Boundary source ↗